Thai Health Minister Walks Back Quarantine Order for Travelers from Nine Countries

by Admin on March 5, 2020

Image result for coronavirus

Thailand’s health minister has backtracked on a Facebook post he made that said travelers from nine “high risk” Coronavirus countries and two Chinese territories must undergo a 14-day self-quarantine upon arriving in Thailand.

Other health officials recently clarified that this is not official policy yet, as the government has not implemented any concrete policies yet for how to handle travelers from places where the Coronavirus spread is worst.

After making the post, Health Minister Anutin Charnvirakul pulled down his entire Facebook page out of the blue.

The initial Coronavirus travel order Anutin was referencing in his post came from the Disease Control Department and stated that visitors from France, Germany, Italy, Taiwan, Iran, Japan, Singapore, China, South Korea, Hong Kong, and Macau are under additional scrutiny when entering the Kingdom.

Chaninat & Leed’s Thailand lawyers assist in everything from criminal and civil law cases to family law, business law, and real estate law.

As of now though, visitors from those countries are seemingly still able to enter Thailand without any issues, with the exception of Thai citizens returning from two South Korean cities–Daegu and Gyeongsang–who must undergo a 14-day mandatory government quarantine.

Read the full story here.

Related: No Plan to Cancel Songkran Over Coronavirus Fears

Related: Experts Believe Coronavirus Cases in Southeast Asia Are Being Under-reported

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment



Previous post:

Next post:

immediate vortex