Californians Banned from Travelling to Anti-LGBT States

by Admin on January 9, 2017

Bill 1887 went into effect on New Year’s Day


California has banned any state or government sponsored trips to 4 U.S states that have anti-LGBT laws reports The Advocate.

North Carolina, Mississippi, Tennessee, and Kansas are the only states in the U.S that have still not recognized LGBT rights.

Assembly Bill 1887 was passed in September of 2016 and went into effect on January 1st 2017. The law is a strong show of support by the California state government to the LGBT community. “California must take action to avoid supporting or financing discrimination against lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people,” states the legislature.

According to the report, the bill was co- sponsored by Equality California and co-authored by Assemblyman Evan Low, a gay lawmaker in response to North Carolina’s House Bill 2 that prohibits transgender people from using bathrooms that corresponded with their gender identity.

The report also states that “any state that passes laws that repeal LGBT protections, attacks the rights of same-sex couples or LGBT families, or creates exemptions for these families in existing anti-discriminatory laws will be added to the list of states subject to the travel ban.”

Read more here

Related articles:

LGBT Lawsuit against Utah’s “No Promo Homo”Law

France to Amend Transgender Sterilization Law

Related Video:

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment



Previous post:

Next post:

Weekly Reload Bonus - Neon 54 casino!