Hot! Australia Shuts Borders to Citizens from Ebola-Affected Countries

Ebola Virus

Ebola virus” by CDC Global is licensed under CC BY 2.0

Australia will not be issuing people in countries affected by Ebola visas to enter the country, in a controversial move apparently aimed at preventing the virus from entering its borders, reports BBC News.

Australia is reportedly the first developed country to enforce a country-wide travel ban against the citizens of Sierra Leone, Liberia, and Guinea, according to The Sydney Morning Herald. Though it is cancelling all non-permanent or temporary visas, Australia will still allow entry from permanent visa holders of those countries, given they undergo a 21 day quarantine before arrival.

SMH reports that the United Nations as well as Sierra Leone and Liberia have criticized Australia’s decision for being discriminatory and furthering stigmas that deter volunteer relief workers from providing aid.

“Western countries are creating mass panic which is unhelpful in containing a contagious disease like Ebola,” said Ugandan government spokesman Ofwono Opondo of Australia’s decision, according to SMH. “If they create mass panic … this fear will eventually spread beyond ordinary people to health workers or people who transport the sick and then what will happen? Entire populations will be wiped out.”

Keep reading the full story: 
BBC News Australia – Australia suspends visas for people travelling from Ebola-hit countries
The Sydney Morning Herald – Australia criticised over visa ban on citizens of Ebola-hit countries

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *